I do feel like I am making some progress on the soda frontier. I have been pretty good about limiting myself to one soda per day over the past week. So yay for me! I find that it's easier to keep on track at home, even though there's been a case of Pepsi here all week. But when I go out, I want a treat drink. So, when Dan and I went to Dennys with Mom yesterday, I ordered a milk. It's not a boring water, but it is a healthy alternative to soda! So, there's my pat on the back.
I'm not really monitoring my weight right now. I'm more trying to get into better, healthier habits at the moment. I think that once I do, the benefits will be more noticeable and more tangible. Still working on increasing my water intake, that's more of a struggle for me.
And my goal this week is to go walking every day. Wednesday, Friday and Saturday are not scheduled walk days with Anna and Christina, but I'm going to try to be active anyway. Maybe Dan and Nate will go for a family walk with me? Hmmmm, something to think about :)
Sunday, May 16, 2010
Friday, May 14, 2010
winning the battle with soda!!
I have been doing much better with the whole drinking soda thing. I actually haven't even had a soda yet today and it's almost 12:30! I know, it's kind of sad that getting all the way to lunchtime without soda is an accomplishment, but it is.
On to the not so good news. Yesterday Mom made a pan of rice Krispy treats for Dan and Cristi and I ate a freaking TON of them on the way home. I was hungry and I just kept shoveling it into my face. Not to mention how crappy I was feeling yesterday about the whole email drama going back and forth. Basically I eat when I'm bored, or upset. I know that it's a problem that I need to address in order to get to where I want to be, fitness wise.
I was in the Temple yesterday, reading D&C 89 while waiting for the session to start. It's interesting how most people just focus on the parts of the word of wisdom that deal with tobacco and alcohol. There's more. Eating grains and veggies and fruits more than meat, for instance. And being active and getting exercise. It made me stop and think. I mean, yeah I need to lose some weight, but my main motivator has been vanity. But we promise to live the word of wisdom, and I think that I need to focus more there. So, my new goal is to lose about 40lbs, get active so that I can run without fainting, and work on portion control. (After I kick the soda habit, that is)
On to the not so good news. Yesterday Mom made a pan of rice Krispy treats for Dan and Cristi and I ate a freaking TON of them on the way home. I was hungry and I just kept shoveling it into my face. Not to mention how crappy I was feeling yesterday about the whole email drama going back and forth. Basically I eat when I'm bored, or upset. I know that it's a problem that I need to address in order to get to where I want to be, fitness wise.
I was in the Temple yesterday, reading D&C 89 while waiting for the session to start. It's interesting how most people just focus on the parts of the word of wisdom that deal with tobacco and alcohol. There's more. Eating grains and veggies and fruits more than meat, for instance. And being active and getting exercise. It made me stop and think. I mean, yeah I need to lose some weight, but my main motivator has been vanity. But we promise to live the word of wisdom, and I think that I need to focus more there. So, my new goal is to lose about 40lbs, get active so that I can run without fainting, and work on portion control. (After I kick the soda habit, that is)
Monday, May 10, 2010
this is freaking hard!
So far the biggest challenge for me is consistency. I can keep up with eating well, or exercising for a while, then I turn back to my bad habits. As a result, I've been bouncing back and forth between 175 and 184 pounds. Yikes! That is way heavier than I want to be. This week I think I am going to focus my energy on cutting out the soda. I don't do well quitting cold turkey, but I want to downsize to only one soda per day. On the flip side of that, I want to make sure I drink the full 8 glasses of water per day that is reccommended. So far today my liquid intake has been 3 cups juice, 1 12oz Dr. Pepper (also known as abrosia of the Gods, or liquid joy) and a sip of water. yikes. Clearly I have quite a challenge in front of myself. :) But I know it will be totally worth it when I get back down into the 130's to 140's range and get back into my size 8 jeans. Although ideally I'd love to be back in a 6, right now I'd settle for an 8.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
starting up again
I knew that I hadn't been keeping up with this, but wow. My new official restart weight is 182lbs. A full 10 lbs heavier than when I first said I wanted to get serious about losing weight. So clearly I haven't been making progress in the direction I had hoped for.
Today so far has been good. I had a bowl of Special K and half a banana for breakfast. I was at Marilynne's house scrapbooking when lunchtime came around, and we got Rubio's. That was so freaking tasty delicious! But I was good, I got my burrito on whole wheat tortilla and without the creamy chipotle sauce, or even cream cheese! Between that, giving my chips to Bethany, and saving half the burrito for Dan I feel like I did pretty good. I'm thinking that I'll head out to the zoo and do some hill walking with Nate, maybe even break out the ankle weights. And of course, Anna and I are still on for our usual walking.
As long as I do something good for dinner (thinking of grilling something) and keep away from the soda today will be a great fitness/food choice day :)
Today so far has been good. I had a bowl of Special K and half a banana for breakfast. I was at Marilynne's house scrapbooking when lunchtime came around, and we got Rubio's. That was so freaking tasty delicious! But I was good, I got my burrito on whole wheat tortilla and without the creamy chipotle sauce, or even cream cheese! Between that, giving my chips to Bethany, and saving half the burrito for Dan I feel like I did pretty good. I'm thinking that I'll head out to the zoo and do some hill walking with Nate, maybe even break out the ankle weights. And of course, Anna and I are still on for our usual walking.
As long as I do something good for dinner (thinking of grilling something) and keep away from the soda today will be a great fitness/food choice day :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
